LibGuides: CUNY School of Medicine Medical Library: Undergraduate Resources

CUNYMed Resource Collections (Select)

Browse A-Z Medical Database (Select)

*Please note that any resources with a Lock icon will be inaccessible to SBH Users

Please note that these resources are intented to be a supplement for your course syllabi and not a replacement.

U1 - U3 Resources

Anatomy

Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Keith L. Moore; Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley
ISBN: 1496347218
Publication Date: 2018
Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley
ISBN: 9781469890685
Publication Date: 2017
For more than seventy years, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy has continually adapted to meet the needs of each generation of students, while maintaining theGrant's tradition of excellence. The meticulously updated fourteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new features that make it even more practical and user-friendly.
Grant's Dissector by Alan J. Detton
ISBN: 9781496313805
Publication Date: 2017
This classic manual provides step-by-step dissection procedures with the instruction and anatomical detail you need to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a "Dissection Overview," followed by detailed "Dissection Instructions," and concluding with a "Dissection Follow-up."
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
ISBN: 9780323393225
Publication Date: 2019
The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body.
Langman's Medical Embryology by T. W. Sadler
ISBN: 9781975179960
Publication Date: 2023-01-13
This book makes complex embryology concepts approachable to help you build the clinical understanding essential to your success in medical practice, nursing, or other health professions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations clarify the stages of embryonic development with rich detail, and engaging learning features, clinical examples, and online review questions ready you for the challenges ahead on your exams and in clinical practice.
Before We Are Born by Keith L. Moore; T. V. N. Persaud; Mark G. Torchia
ISBN: 9780323608497
Publication Date: 2019-11-11
Covering the essentials of normal and abnormal human development for students in a variety of health science disciplines, Before We Are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects, 10th Edition, reflects new research findings and current clinical practice through concise text and abundant illustrations.

Biochemistry

Clinical Biochemistry by Michael Murphy; Rajeev Srivastava; Kevin Deans
ISBN: 9780702072987
Publication Date: 2019
This comprehensively revised edition of Clinical Biochemistry offers essential reading for today's students of medicine and other health science disciplines - indeed, anyone who requires a concise, practical introduction to the subject. Topics are clearly presented in a series of double-page 'learning units', each covering a particular aspect of clinical biochemistry.
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry 31/e by Victor W. Rodwell; Peter J. Kennelly; David Bender; Kathleen M. Botham; P. Anthony Weil
ISBN: 9781259837937
Publication Date: 2018
The Thirty-First Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school.
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry by Michael A. Lieberman; Alisa Peet
ISBN: 9781975150143
Publication Date: 2022
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, 6th Edition links biochemistry to physiology and pathophysiology, empowering students to confidently apply fundamental concepts to the practice of medicine -- from diagnosing patients to recommending effective treatments.
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by Emine E. Abali; Susan D. Cline; David S. Franklin; Susan M. Viselli
ISBN: 9781975155063
Publication Date: 2021
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Praised by faculty and students for more than two decades, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry.

Cell Biology

Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Cell and Molecular Biology by Susan Viselli
ISBN: 9781496348500
Publication Date: 2019
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Cell and Molecular Biology continues to provide a highly visual presentation of essential cell and molecular biology, focusing on topics related to human health and disease. It offers all the most popular features of the bestselling Lippincott Illustrated Reviews series, including abundant full-color, annotated illustrations, chapter overviews, an expanded outline format, chapter summaries, and review questions that link basic science to real-life clinical situations.
Cell Biology by Thomas D. Pollard; William C. Earnshaw; Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz; Graham T. Johnson
ISBN: 9780323341264
Publication Date: 2017
Relevant to both research and clinical practice, this rich resource covers key principles of cellular function and uses them to explain how molecular defects lead to cellular dysfunction and cause human disease. Concise text and visually amazing graphics simplify complex information and help readers make the most of their study time.

Medical Genetics

Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics by Reed E. Pyeritz (Editor); Bruce R. Korf (Editor); Wayne W. Grody (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128125373
Publication Date: 2019
The Seventh Edition of this classic reference includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies to complete its coverage of this growing field for medical students, residents, physicians, and researchers involved in the care of patients with genetic conditions.
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by Robert L. Nussbaum; Roderick R. McInnes; Huntington F. Willard
ISBN: 9781437706963
Publication Date: 2016
Acquire the state-of-the-art knowledge you need on the latest advances in molecular diagnostics, the Human Genome Project, pharmacogenetics, and bio-informatics. Better understand the relationship between basic genetics and clinical medicine with a variety of clinical case studies.
Human Genetics by Johannes Zschocke
ISBN: 9781608316717
Publication Date: 2012
With its unique, systems-based approach ideal for integrated curricula, the text guides students through their genetics, pediatrics, and medicine rotations and will also be helpful as a pocket resource for residents in pediatrics, internal medicine, family medicine, and obstetrics. Content has been carefully adapted from the critically acclaimed German text for the English language audience.

Physiology

Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall
ISBN: 9781455770052
Publication Date: 2016
The 13th edition of Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology continues this bestselling title's long tradition as the world's foremost medical physiology textbook. Unlike other textbooks on this topic, this clear and comprehensive guide has a consistent, single-author voice and focuses on the content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students. The detailed but lucid text is complemented by didactic illustrations that summarize key concepts in physiology and pathophysiology.
Medical Physiology by Rodney A. Rhoades; David R. Bell
ISBN: 9781496310460
Publication Date: 2018
Along with the latest information on how the human body reacts to internal and external changes, the text provides a deep understanding of how physiologic systems coordinate to maintain optimal health. Emphasizing normal physiology, discussions of pathophysiology are also included to show how altered functions are involved in disease processes. This fifth edition focuses on the physiologic principles key to understanding human function, and places them clearly in their fundamental context in clinical medicine.

Pharmacology

Principles of Pharmacology by David E. Golan
ISBN: 9781451191004
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! This new edition was recognized as a highly commended title by the British Medical Association at the 2017 BMA Medical Book Awards . Regarded by both students and instructors, Principles of Pharmacology: The Pathophysiologic Basis of Drug Therapy, 4th Edition , offers an integrated mechanism-based and systems-based approach to contemporary pharmacology and drug development. An easy-to-follow format helps first- and second-year students grasp challenging concepts quickly and efficiently. Each chapter presents a clinical vignette illustrating a therapeutic problem within a physiologic or biochemical system; followed by a discussion of the biochemistry, physiology, and pathophysiology of the system; and concluding with a presentation of the pharmacology of the drugs and drug classes that activate or inhibit the system by interacting with specific molecular and cellular targets. Chapters are integrated into sections that focus on organ systems and therapeutic areas of highest importance. Clear, concise illustrations highlight key points, and drug summary tables offer quick access to essential information.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14th Edition by Bertram G. Katzung
ISBN: 9781259641152
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice.

Histology

Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Fifteenth Edition by Anthony Mescher
ISBN: 9781260026177
Publication Date: 2018-08-09
For more than four decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has built a global reputation as the most accessible, yet comprehensive overview of human tissue structure and function available. It delivers a well-organised and concise presentation of cell biology and histology integrated with biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology and physiology. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology.
Wheater's Functional Histology by Barbara Young; Phillip Woodford; Geraldine O'Dowd
ISBN: 9780702047473
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Take a simple approach to understanding the fundamentals with Wheater's Functional Histology. Offering concise text accompanied by hundreds of captions and images of histology slides, this best-selling textbook will equip you with all the must-know histology information you need to complete your courses and ace your exams. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation. Recognize the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and how it relates to function with the help of over 900 high-quality histology images and illustrations. Master how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter. Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, including all of the images, a virtual histolab, and USMLE-style self-assessment questions and rationales. Gain a rich understanding of histology through simple, concise text and captions that are thoroughly updated with the most recent research and new discoveries. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation.

Pathology

Robbins Basic Pathology by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster
ISBN: 9780323353175
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
Part of the trusted Robbins and Cotran family, Robbins Basic Pathology provides a readable, well-illustrated and concise overview of the principles of human pathology that's ideal for today's busy students. This thoroughly revised edition continues with a strong emphasis on pathogenesis and the clinical features of disease, adding new artwork and more schematic diagrams to further aid in summarizing key pathologic processes and expand the already impressive illustration program.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster
ISBN: 9780323531139
Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult.

Immunology

Basic Immunology by Abul K. Abbas; Andrew H. H. Lichtman; Shiv Pillai
ISBN: 9780323549431
Publication Date: 2019-04-10
Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 6th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help students master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Provides top-notch instruction from experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers led by well-known editor and author Dr. Abul Abbas.

Microbiology

Sherris Medical Microbiology, Seventh Edition by Kenneth J. Ryan; Nafees Ahmad; J. Andrew Alspaugh; W. Lawrence Drew; Michael Lagunoff; Paul Pottinger; L. Barth Reller; Megan E. Reller; Charles R. Sterling; Scott Weissman
ISBN: 9781259859809
Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than a quarter-of-a-century, no other text has explained the link between microbiology and human disease states better than Sherris Medical Microbiology, Seventh Edition. Through a vibrant, engaging approach, this classic gives readers a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Part I of Sherris Medical Microbiology opens with a non-technical chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infection agents. The following four chapters provide more detail about the immune response to infection and the prevention, epidemiology, and diagnosis of infectious disease. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases. Each of these sections opens with chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. No other text clarifies the link between microbiology and human disease states like Sherris.

AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships. Features: eBooks (126), Multimedia files (959), Clinical Files (23), Review Books (28), Flashcards, Differential Diagnosis Tool, Drug Database, Clerkship Topics, and Patient Ed. Note: Requires a MyAccess account. For more information, visit the MyAccess tab in our Guides and Tutorials section.
BrowZine allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.
ClinicalKey is an evidence-based information tool that provides access to journals, ebooks, medical and procedural videos as well as calculators.
PubMed - Find It!@CUNY PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature dating back to around 1946. It covers more than 5600 biomedical journals; citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Find It!@CUNY is a research tool that simplifies your efforts to find full text for journal articles you have selected in PubMed for which CCNY and CUNYMed Libraries have subscriptions. Find It!@CUNY works only if you search PubMed via the CCNY server.
ProQuest Ebook Central is your resource for ebooks providing breadth and depth of authoritative content, courtesy of your institution.
Net Anatomy Developed by anatomy faculty from The George Washington University, this resource is designed to teach human anatomy to students in the health professions. This resource focuses on the structural and functional relationships of the human body and the language that describes these relationships.

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association is the most widely circulated medical journal in the world; Promotes the science and art of medicine and the betterment of the public health, in all aspects of medicine.
The New England Journal of Medicine: An acknowledged leader in publishing the most important, most clinically relevant research in medicine. In addition, we publish review articles, case reports, and guidance from the front lines of clinical care.
The American Journal of Health Promotion by Sage Journals is a peer-reviewed journal advancing the science of health behavior change and the art of creating a culture of well-being.
Social Science & Medicine by Science Direct provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of social science research on health.
Medical Humanities presents the international conversation around medicine and its engagement with the humanities and arts, social sciences, health policy, medical education, patient experience and the public at large.
The American Journal of Bioethics is the leading journal in the field of bioethics, publishing original contributions that explore domestic and global ethical challenges in health care, medicine, public health, and the life sciences.

Learning Clinical Reasoning by Jerome P. Kassirer; Richard I. Kopelman; John B. Wong
Call Number: R723 .K38 2010
ISBN: 9780781795159
Publication Date: 2010
Learning Clinical Reasoning uses a case-based approach to teach students the basics of clinical reasoning. The first section explains the chief components of the clinical reasoning process, such as generating and refining diagnostic hypotheses, using and interpreting diagnostic tests, assembling a working diagnosis, therapeutic decision-making, and examining and applying evidence, and also includes a discussion of cognitive errors. The second section contains 69 cases in which clinicians think out loud about diagnostic and therapeutic dilemmas, and the authors critique these clinicians' reasoning.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781469893419
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format featuring examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.
Sapira's Art and Science Bedside Diagnosis by Jane Orient
ISBN: 9781496343802
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
Tried and true methods are described in step-by-step detail, and include clinical pearls, vignettes, practical clinical experiences, personal history, explanations of the physiologic significance of findings, and extensive discussions of evidence-based medicine.

Behavioral Medicine by Mitchell D. Feldman; John F. Christensen
ISBN: 9780071767705
Publication Date: 2014
The goal of Behavioral Medicine is to help practitioners and students understand the interplay between psychological, physical, social and cultural issues of patients. Within its pages you will find real-world coverage of behavioral and interactional issues that occur between provider and patient in everyday clinical practice. You will learn how to deliver bad news, how to conduct an effective patient interview, how to care for patients at the end of life, how to clinically manage common mental and behavioral issues in medical patients, the principles of medical professionalism, motivating behavior change, and much more.
Clinical Epidemiology by Robert H. Fletcher; Suzanne W. Fletcher; Grant S. Fletcher
ISBN: 9781451144475
Publication Date: 2014
Written by expert educators, this text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The Fifth Edition includes more complete coverage of systematic reviews and knowledge management, as well as other key topics such as abnormality, diagnosis, frequency and risk, prognosis, treatment, prevention, chance, studying cases and cause.
Clinical Ethics by Albert R. Jonsen; Mark Siegler; William J. Winslade
ISBN: 9780071845069
Publication Date: 2015
Clinical Ethics goes beyond theory to offer a decision-making strategy applicable to real-world practice. Readers will learn an easy-to-apply system based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that clearly explain clinical ethics and help them formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. The case examples have been selected to demonstrate how principles apply to real-world everyday practice.
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients by Talmadge E. King; Alicia Fernandez; Kevin Grumbach; Dean Schillinger; Teresa J. Villela; Margaret B. Wheeler; Andrew B. Bindman
ISBN: 9780071834445
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
The leading reference and text on caring for underserved patients and those with highly unique health requirements - updated and expanded in full color Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice and Populations, Second Edition is designed to clarify current issues and instruct you in best practices and compliance with legislation, such as the Affordable Care Act, when caring for patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations.
Resolving Ethical Dilemmas by Bernard Lo
ISBN: 9781451176407
Publication Date: 2013
This edition includes new discussions of ethical issues as they relate to clinical practice guidelines and evidence-based medicine, electronic medical records, genetic testing, and opioid prescription. The book also includes an increased focus on ethical issues in ambulatory care. Readers will also find more detailed analysis of cases, more examples of ethical reasoning, more highlight pages relating clinical ethics to emergency medicine, oncology, palliative care, and family medicine. Also new are discussions of quality improvement and use of advance care planning rather than advance directives.
Understanding Health Policy by Thomas Bodenheimer; Kevin Grumbach
ISBN: 9781259584756
Publication Date: 2016
This concise and engaging textbook clearly explains the all major aspects of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement. It will help you develop a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about health care in the United States, its problems, and the alternatives for managing and solving these problems.
Introduction to Community and Public Health by Manoj Sharma; Paul W. Branscum; Ashutosh Atri
ISBN: 9781118410554
Publication Date: 2014
Learn the basics of the five core areas of community and public health Introduction to Community and Public Health covers the basics in each area of community and public health as identified by the Association of Schools of Public Health. In a student-friendly approach, authors Manoj Sharma, Paul W. Branscum, and Ashutosh Atri discuss epidemiology, biostatistics, social and behavioral sciences, environmental health, and healthy policy and management.
Narrative Medicine by Rita Charon
ISBN: 9780195166750
Publication Date: 2008
Narrative medicine has emerged in response to a commodified health care system that places corporate and bureaucratic concerns over the needs of the patient. Generated from a confluence of sources including humanities and medicine, primary care medicine, narratology, and the study of doctor-patient relationships, narrative medicine is medicine practiced with the competence to recognize, absorb, interpret, and be moved by the stories of illness.