A-Z Databases

Featured Databases

The most frequently-used databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,000 journals.

Featured

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care. To use “Cases and Study Tools” you must login into the “My Free Access Profile”

Featured

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature, full-text of to more than 1,454.00 journals, indexing to more than 5,000. journals, cited reference searching from 1994 to the present, and a lot more. Dates: 1937 - present. You can't select another database because the "Choose Database" Link is DISABLED

Featured

ClinicalKey--Must Register every 180 days This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey combines a broad range of resources within a single interface: Full text journals & reference books; Medline citations; First Consult/ Procedures Consult surgical videos; Clinical Pharmacology drug monographs and Practice Guidelines

Featured

Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science Emtree thesaurus; includes all MEDLINE titles, and additional 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Includes conference abstracts from important biomedical, drug and medical device conferences dating back to 2009. It has 64 drug subheadings, including 47 routes of administration, 4 medical device subheadings, 14 disease subheadings, several thousand terms for related medical procedures, over 3,000 specific terms for general and medical devices, etc.

Featured

JAMA (1998-present) This link opens in a new window One of the most important journals in medicine. It comes with the membership in the American Medical Association

Featured

LWW Health Library: Basic and Anatomical Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window LWW Health Library: Basic and Anatomical Sciences Premium Collection includes books in physiology, diagnosis, anatomy, histology, pharmacology, immunology, pathology and biochemistry from Wolters Kluwer.

Featured

OneSearch This link opens in a new window OneSearch combines in one searchable place three things: the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library. The purpose of a discovery service is to allow patrons to search quickly and seamlessly across a vast range of local and remote content while providing relevancy-ranked results in the type of intuitive interface that information seekers have come to expect.

Featured

PubMed (CCNY server) This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Dates: 1947 - present. PubMed citations via this URL, are linked to the CCNY library’s online full-text subscriptions. Click on the icon “FIND IT @ CUNY” to learn whether or not the CCNY library has access to this journal/article.

Featured

There are advantages and disadvantages weather you choose to search MEDLINE (Ovid), MEDLINE Complete (Ebsco); PubMed (NLM); and MEDLINE on the Web of Science Core Collection.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Featured

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

LitMed: Literature Arts Medicine Database This link opens in a new window “The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database (LitMed) is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities. It was created by faculty of the New York University School of Medicine in 1993. The annotations are written by an invited editorial board of scholars from all over North America.” -LitMed “About the Database”

New