Skip to Main Content

CUNY School of Medicine Medical Library: Medical Image References

Below you can find medical images and videos to use in your study and possibly for presentations. Please be mindful of copyright terms of the images you use in your work.

Medical Image References

  • AccessMedicine Human Anatomy Modules: Videos, lectures, and still images of the human body.

  • Cells Alive: Images, interactive diagrams and animations pertaining to cell biology, microbiology, immunology and microscopy.

  • ClinicalKey: Images: 2.2 million+ medical images for use in presentations and handouts.

  • ClinicalKey: Procedure Consult Images: Procedures Consult articles (300+) each include detailed video, text and illustrations covering top medical procedures, with a focus on patient safety guidelines.

  • Embryo Images - Normal and Abnormal Mammalian Development: Uses scanning electron micrographs (SEMs) as the primary resource to teach mammalian embryology.

  • eSkeletons: provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy.

  • Illustrate Change: A repository of medical imagery that provides representation of people of color. Please note that this collection is not CC licensed, but it does indicate that it is available for 'educational and training purposes only' and cannot be used commercially.

  •  Innerbody Anatomy Explorer: A free educational resource for learning about human anatomy and physiology. Explore the anatomy systems of the human body through interactive maps of the nervous, muscular, skeletal systems, and more.

  • Instant Anatomy: A free resource that includes body diagrams, lectures, podcasts, questions, MCQs, and apps related to human anatomy.

  • The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education: Contains over 2,000 images with text, 2,000+ examination items and more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas.

  • JayDoc HistoWeb: Tissue slides of cell structure, epithelia, glands, nervous system, muscles, and more. 

  • NCI Visuals Online: A collection of 3,426 images spans everything from biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images to portraits of present and past directors and the staff of the National Cancer Institute. 

  • Netanatomy: An online resource including cross-sectional images, x-rays and a breakdown of anatomical terminology. 

  • NIH Image Gallery

  • NLM's Digital Collections: The National Library of Medicine's free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images.

  • The Open Anatomy Project: The Open Anatomy Project is developing a system for distributing free, open, high-quality anatomy atlases and open-source software throughout the world. 

  • Open-i: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine: Enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.

  • PathoPic: A public access image database providing images of high quality for use in medical education and public health information. 

  • Public Health Image Library (PHIL): Offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.

  • Virtual Human Embryo (VHE): This 14,250-page, illustrated atlas of human embryology,  presents all 23 Carnegie Stages of development during the 8-week embryonic period.

  • Wellcome Library: Images: Free images are those available completely free-of-charge in high resolution under a CC-BY licence.

  • Zygote Body: A free online 3D anatomy atlas where you can view, isolate, and explore human anatomy structures.