LibGuides: FIQWS 10013: Narrative Medicine: FIND ARTICLES

Creating Search Strategies

Boolean Operators. Boolean Operators are used to connect and define the relationship between your search terms. When searching electronic databases, you can use Boolean operators to either narrow or broaden your record sets. The three Boolean operators are AND, OR, NOT (we are not addressing the last boolean operator).

Searching Databases: basic steps

Break your research topic into keywords.
Combine your keywords/search terms with Boolean operators (AND, OR).
Determine your conditions (such as publication year or document type) and apply them to your search as limits or filters.

Boolean Search Operators (NOT used infrequently)

MEDICAL DATABASES

EBSCOhost Medline Complete on the CCNY SERVER
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
EBSCOhost PsycInfo on the CCNY SERVER
PsycINFO contains more than 7 million citations (nearly 2 million with abstracts) of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than nearly 2,400 periodicals in over 27 languages. It uses the end-user interface found in other EBSCO databases in terms of its structure, layout, and features. Dates: 1887 - present.

HUMANITIES DATABASES

EBSCOhost Humanities Source on CCNY SERVER
The authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought, providing access to more than 1,450 full-text journals dating back to 1907.
Project MUSE on the CCNY Server
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.
Literature, Arts and Medicine Database (LitMed)
LitMed is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities. It was created by faculty of the New York University School of Medicine in 1993. Some statistics: total database contents include 176 Visual Art Annotations, 2825 Literature Annotations, 273 Performing Art Annotations, 98 Artists, 1809 Authors, and 156 Keywords.

SEARCHING TERMS FOR NARRATIVE MEDICINE TOPICS

personal account OR narrative medicine OR storytelling OR eyewitness OR first-hand experience OR autobiography OR testimonials

AND TOPIC

-------------------------------------------------------

narrative medicine AND TOPIC (right to die; pediatric oncology; cancer ; Alzheimer's disease; diagnostic errors; postpartum depression)

SOCIAL SCIENCES & MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

EBSCOhost: SocINDEX with Full Text on CCNY SERVER
Google Scholar on the CCNY Server
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. Most searches return an assortment of citations, abstracts, and links to full text. To link Google Scholar to the City College Library's full text offerings, click 'Scholar Preferences,' type 'City College,' and click 'Find Library.' Then check the box next to 'City College - Find fulltext at CCNY.'
JSTOR on the CCNY Server
Covers primarily the humanities and social sciences

FIND ARTICLES IN ELECTRONIC JOURNAL PACKAGES FULL-TEXT

Sage Premier on the CCNY Server
The package includes access to journals primarily in the Social Science & Humanities, with some in the Health Sciences, the Life & Biomedical Sciences. Here you have the option of browsing journals by discipline
ScienceDirect on the CCNY SERVER
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection the full-text periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. It provides access to 898 current full-text medical journal titles in 2019. You MUST SIGN IN (Create Account First)

CAN'T FIND THE ARTICLE I NEED__USE ILLIAD

ILLIAD-Interlibrary Loan Services (ILL)—Logon
Register for an ILLiad Account
Use your Citymail/CCNY email account and your 14 digit barcode on the back of your identification card. After reading this information, you can press the "First Time Users Click Here" button to continue.

Anatomy of an article citation MLA Style

Torgerson, Beth. “Representing Illness: Competing Religious and Scientific Discourses in Harriet Martineau’s Life in the Sick-Room and Autobiography.” Victorians: A Journal of Culture & Literature, no. 135, Summer 2019, pp. 13–27.

CCNY Library

A-Z Databases
All resources available on the CCNY Server

FIQWS 10013: Narrative Medicine: FIND ARTICLES

WHEN YOU NEED TO FIND AN ARTICLE?